Mushroom Stroganoff

So, I’ve been gone for awhile – I had a few health issues, very minor, but enough that I think we’ve had our fair share of take-out for the next year! All is well now and even the BF recently remarked that he really missed my cooking. So, without further delay, here’s what I’ve been eating lately. It’s a new, veggie-friendly spin on an old classic!

Mushroom Stroganoff

from Stephanie Cooks

1 tbsp butter
1/2 large onion, diced
10 oz. mushrooms, sliced thin
1/4 cup white wine
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp flour
1 cup light sour cream
12 oz egg noodles

Heat salted water to a boil and cook noddles until al dente. In the meantime, melt butter in a medium saucepan. Cook onions until slightly soft, then add mushrooms. Cook, stirring occassionally, until mushrooms release some of their water. Add flour, stirring well to combine, then add white wine, salt, pepper, and Worcestershire. Cook on medium until liquid reduces and begins to thicken and mushrooms are tender. Remove from heat and stir in sour cream. Add hot, cooked noodles and stir gently so sauce coats noodles.

When I made mine, I actually didn’t put in all of the sour cream – I probably used about 2/3 a cup instead. I thought I could cut back on a little fat and not be stuffing my face with gobs of sour cream, but as it turned out, I think you really need the extra 1/3 cup to cover the amount of noodles that you’ve cooked. Next time, I would probably just half the recipe. As it was, I was eating this for lunch for an entire week!

About indeeskitchen

I'm just a beginner cook hoping you'll join me along the way!
This entry was posted in pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

